Joy in the Trials

It’s been a year since my whole world stopped and I placed my daughter into the hands of surgeons. Honestly, a year ago I felt numb and was just going through each day, one second at a time.

IMG_3710

 

“Rejoice in hope, be patient in tribulation, be constant in prayer.”

Romans 12:12

Last year I felt so much peace and joy as I faced a deep, unknown future.

I had a decision to make: choose joy or choose misery.

IMG_3833

I chose JOY.

Through all of this, I have learned that joy doesn’t mean happiness. I didn’t feel happy, I didn’t want to be happy that my daughter’s life was on the line, that her tiny heart was broken.

Joy is choosing to hold on to the hope of Jesus, despite the mess and chaos around you.

I had to choose to operate on what I knew, instead of how I felt.

I knew that God had a plan for my baby girl. I knew the surgeons were the best we could have. I knew, without a doubt, that my baby girl would be taken care of.

Now, a year later my baby girl is doing great! The experience I gained this past year is one I NEVER would have asked for, but I am so THANKFUL for it. I experienced God in ways I never could have if I hadn’t gone through something like this.

IMG_6948

Every trial is an opportunity for us to choose joy. Every trial is an opportunity for us to experience God in new ways.

This world is dark and corrupt, but there is hope to be found.

Jesus is the light and the hope of the world.

Leave a Reply

