Courage Doesn’t Always Roar

Courage

In this season of parenting for me, it seems I have more days where I find myself at the end of the day finally putting my head on the pillow saying, “I will try again tomorrow.” There are many times I feel like I’ve failed, like I am the worst parent ever, and thankful I made it through the day.

It takes courage to parent. It takes courage to walk through the day and fight through breaking apart each wrestling or yelling match or constantly being called upon. Our children deserve to see their parent’s courage, even in the midst of exhaustion and failure.

Courage is a choice. We can choose to fight, run away, or pee down our leg. Courage is not easy, it’s not always loud either. Courage is getting up every morning, taking each day one moment at a time and making the choice to keep moving. Courage is choosing joy in the midst of it all.

God has called me to motherhood. He has blessed me with three beautiful children and another one to add to my crazy circus.. Courage in the midst of my world comes from turning to Jesus and saying I cannot do it anymore, please carry me. And He will!

Joshua 1:9 “Have I not commanded you? Be strong and courageous. Do not be frightened, and do not be dismayed, for the Lord your God is with yo wherever you go.” 

My strength comes from the Lord. Thank goodness because most days I am in short supply. So today I will choose courage. I will choose joy. I will choose to fight.

Today I will fight to spend time with Jesus, at His feet. I will fight to fuel my heart and energy with the strength and joy of the Lord. I will fight for my children. I will fight for their eternities, because in the end that’s what I have been called to do.

Leave a Reply

