The Art of Vulnerability

IMG_3382

 

Being vulnerable is an art.

It’s quite a daunting task if we haven’t been first honest with ourselves. I struggle with this. I am the momma bear, the caregiver. I naturally want to take care of everyone. However, I am not able to give my best when I am not OK.

I am learning that it is OK to not be OK.

We each have our strengths and talents and for some we can push through a lot. We can take on a lot of stress, worry, anxiety and push aside our insecurity and fear with our pride to make it seem like we’re ok. But learning to be vulnerable starts with first being vulnerable with ourselves.

Paul reminds us in Corinthians that God is the one “who comforts us in all our affliction so that we will be able to comfort those who are in any affliction with the comfort we ourselves are comforted by God.” (1 Corinthians 1:4).

Someone recently shared with me that in order to comfort others we must first be comforted and being comforted means opening ourselves up to allow someone to see us in those vulnerable moments and give us comfort.

When we withdraw from those whom God has placed in our lives, we are not allowing God to comfort us. We are called to carry the burdens of each other (Galatians 6:2), we are not meant to do this life alone.

I’ve been challenged to take a look at what I am enduring or pushing through just because I have to and realizing where I might need to stop, be vulnerable, and allow someone to come alongside me and help. After all, we don’t get  a village without asking for help.

God wants to comfort us. We shouldn’t let our pride or fear or anxiety get in the way of being vulnerable and opening ourselves up to the comfort from others. Let your village surround you and support you. No one expects you to be perfect and OK all the time.

Leave a Reply

