Growing through Motherhood

 

I always dreamed of being a mom, I wanted children to love and take care of my own little family. I heard motherhood was tough, I was told it will change your life, I thought I understood what it meant to be completely self-less. But I was wrong. Oh, so wrong.

Motherhood changed my life completely. It all began the moment I found out I was pregnant. I had a little human growing inside me, a miracle, a blessing. It was like I was given a different lens to see life. Everything changed.

With each child new challenges arose (I currently have a 4 year old, two year old, one year old, and one on the way). I never imagined how difficult it would be to have young children. They are quite a challenge, not just in their life stage but learning how to nurture your children, provide for them, all the while keeping yourself fed, happy, healthy, spiritually growing, and thriving.

I reached a point where I was just surviving. I am in the middle of finding that sweet spot between thriving and surviving. It ebbs and flows. But through this I am learning how to have peace in the midst of all the chaos. I am learning in order for me to successfully be the woman, wife, mother, friend God has called me to be I first need to go to Him.

phil 1.6

“And I am certain that God, who began the good work within you, will continue His work until it is finally finished on the day when Jesus Christ returns.” Philippians 1:6 (NLT)

The process of growing and being refined as a mother will not stop until Jesus returns. At first that seems discouraging, “You mean I have to keep surviving knowing it won’t stop until Jesus comes back?!” But the beauty of this is that we can grow. We can thrive. We can do more than just survive. Jesus promises that He will refine us and prune us so that we can become more of who He has called us, purposed us to be.

Finding beauty in the midst of surviving and thriving is the most rewarding of being refined as a mother. Yes, motherhood is challenging in way I never knew, let alone even existed. Yes, motherhood is the most rewarding knowing this is what God has destined us to be.

I am learning to embrace the Truth: Jesus began this work of motherhood in me the moment I learned I was pregnant. He will be with me every step of the way!

Leave a Reply

